A Cosmetic Scientist’s Skincare Routine: Part 2- Serums

Serums must be my favourite products to use, these little bottles of concentrated potions are my secret to looking young.  These are the products that I don’t mind spending that little bit more money on, especially when I know what I am getting in return.

So my all-time favourite serum is ‘Blemish + Age Defense’ – By SkinCeuticals.

I have been using this serum, on and off, for just over a year now, and fit it into my daily routine by applying both morning & evening after cleansing.

This product does come with a price tag of £74, and yes some might think, including me, that it is expensive, but after testing the serum and seeing its amazing results, I will never think twice before buying the product again.

Blemish & Age Defense is a multi-functional serum, helps combat blemishes, fights against signs of ageing and minimizes hyper-pigmentation.

Actives used:

– 2.0% Dioic Acid – helps control sebum production and reduces acne P bacteria.

–  0.3% Capryloyl Salicylic Acid – helps exfoliate epidermal skin cells, unclog pores and reduces blemishes. The skincare industry hugely values this active because of its multi-functional and versatile nature.

– 1.5% Salicylic Acid – helps reduce blemish and breakouts and refines spots.

– 3.5% Glycolic Acid and 0.5% Citric Acid – helps stimulate epidermal exfoliation and reduces signs of ageing.

I must say that results do not happen over-night. It did take a good month or two before I started seeing changes… but when I did they were amazing, more than I thought possible. I have not seen my skin have such a healthy, smooth and naturally luminous glow to it as it does now.

When it comes to buying a good serum I always look for strong claims that either support the actives used in the product or ones that support the finished product; and not just a marketing story to make the product sound interesting.

So I look for products which have been clinically tested and trialled on a panel of people, and therefore have the right to claim on packaging

–          Clinically tested

–          Dermatologically tested

–          Dermatologist approved

Products backed up with efficacious studies will always mention it on the pack or website. Products which have gone through such testing will be expensive because the Brand will have to invest around £2,000-£6,000 for a small product range to be tested and given the approval to state the above claims. (I will be writing a post specifically on claim substantiation and the different between clinically tested products and ones with just a marketing story)

I feel that if you are going to spend money on beauty products do invest in a good serum.

Leave a Reply

