A Cosmetic Scientist’s Skincare Routine: Part 1- Make-up remover & Cleansing

This is part 1 of a series of posts focusing on the skincare routine which I currently go through.

Today will be all about cleansers!  Removing your make-up and cleansing your skin is the most important step in a skincare routine and should always be your first step in the morning and at night. There is nothing better for your skin than removing all the make-up and dirt and giving your skin a fresh start.

I have combination skin, oily on the T-Zone, drier on the cheeks and prone to spots on my forehead and jaw line. I do have a morning and night routine which works wonders and has reduced the number of breakouts my skin goes through. In the morning I prefer using a quick and easy wash/rinse-off type product before moisturising and applying make-up.

My daily morning routine:

I begin my day using ‘Gentle Foaming Cleanser with shea Butter’ – By Clarins and as said in the name it actually is The Most gentle foaming cleanser I have ever tried. Its mousse like texture is super soft, so much so that anyone with sensitive skin would probably enjoy using. This to me is a winning cleanser without a doubt. Absolutely love love love !!!

Actives used:

– Alpha-Glucan Oligosaccharide, Polymnia Sonchifolia Root Juice & Lactobacillus work really well together as a pre/probiotic complex, optimizing and improving the cutaneous ecoflora. These actives help improve the skins radiance and strengthen its overall natural biological defence.

– Gossypium Herbaceum (Cotton) Seed Extract & Butyrospermum Parkii (shea) Butter – nourishes the skin, leaving it feeling soft and supple.

My evening routine:

The cleanser I am currently using to remove my daily make-up is ‘Aroma Cleanse, Cleansing Milk – By Decleor.This cleanser has a very delicate and soft texture, which helps remove all make-up really easily and gently, and does not leave an occlusive film on the skin. The formula is very basic and does not contain any fancy actives, however it works well with removing make-up.

Essential oils & waters used:

– Lavender, Petit grain Essential Oils – used to fragrance the product.

– Orange, Kiwi and Mallow Essential Waters

My next step would be to cleanse my face with a rinse off product to make sure my emulsion based cleansing milk is removed.

The reason I do this is because all ‘Milky/Cream/Lotion like Cleansers are formulated in the same way that moisturisers are – all will contain a water phase and oil phase in order to create the emulsion system. If the initial cleanser/make up remover I use is an emulsion and my moisturiser will also be an emulsion – I am effectively applying two different creams on my skin which can sometimes cause product build up, feel too heavy and potentially lead to blemishes. So I always try to rinse off any residue left over from my make-up remover with the help of two different rinse-off Cleansers.

The first is ‘Gentle Foaming Cleanser with shea Butter’ – By Clarins which is the same as my morning routine cleanser and I tend to have this as my every day cleanser.

The second cleanser which I am completely obsessed with is ‘Blemish + Age Cleansing Gel’ – By SkinCeuticals. This is the best AHA cleanser I have come across. I use this cleanser every 3-4 days and only in the evening, even though directions of use on the packaging state using the product twice daily. I personally feel that every day use could be too harsh on the skin for some people as it is for me.

Actives used:

– 3.5% Glycolic Acid- helps stimulate epidermal exfoliation and reduces signs of ageing.

– 0.2% Salicylic Acid- helps reduce blemish and breakouts and refines spots.

– 0.2% Capryloyl Salicylic Acid- helps exfoliate epidermal skin cells, unclog pores and reduces blemishes.

I would definitely recommend this cleanser to anyone with blemishes, but I also recommend easing yourself slowly into a routine with this product. If you are using an AHA cleanser for the first time, start using it once or twice a week and using a small amount of product for the entire face. The product usage could always be increased to a routine that works for you.

So that’s about the cleanser I have been using…. Part two of my skincare routine will be serums… so stay tuned!!


Comments

  1. Make-up remover wipes are not the best for your skin. If you do use them, make sure to cleanse the skin with a rinse off product afterwards just to make sure all the make-up is removed.

  2. Arleen Walker says:

    Excellent! I don’t have a problem with blemishes and use a toner after the face wash. What about the make-up remover wipes?

Leave a Reply

